What are the 4 stages of cirrhosis?

Cirrhosis is a chronic liver disease that occurs when healthy liver tissue is replaced with scar tissue. The disease progresses in four stages and includes:

1. Compensated Cirrhosis:

In this stage, the liver is still able to perform most of its functions, and there are no signs or symptoms of liver disease. Compensated patients do not have ascites, variceal hemorrhage, hepatic encephalopathy, or jaundice. A liver biopsy may be the only way to confirm a diagnosis of cirrhosis

2. Decompensated Cirrhosis:

In this stage, the liver’s function begins to decline, and symptoms such as jaundice, fluid accumulation in the abdomen (ascites), and confusion (hepatic encephalopathy) may develop.

3. Advanced Cirrhosis:

In this stage, the liver’s function continues to decline, and complications such as kidney failure, bleeding from varices, and liver cancer may occur.

4. End-stage Cirrhosis:

In this final stage, the liver has lost most of its function, and a liver transplant is often the only treatment option.

It’s worth noting that, the stages of cirrhosis are not always clear-cut, and the progression of the disease can vary widely from person to person. Additionally, it’s important to work with a healthcare provider to determine the underlying cause of cirrhosis and develop an appropriate treatment plan that may include addressing the underlying causes of cirrhosis, managing the symptoms and side effects of the disease and addressing mental health concerns.